Worship with us: Sundays @ 9:30 AM and 3:30 PM

About the Free Reformed Churches

The Free Reformed Churches of Australia is a federation of 15 congregations, 13 in Western Australia and two in Tasmania, with over 4000 members. Our historical roots are in the Reformed Churches of the Netherlands (Liberated) as a result of post-World War II immigration, and our doctrinal roots are in the sixteenth century Protestant Reformation and the Bible.

As a confessional church, the churches subscribe to the Three Forms of Unity: Canons of Dort, Belgic Confession and the Heidelberg Catechism. The churches submit to the following three creeds as summaries of the faith: The Apostles Creed, The Nicene Creed, and The Athanasian Creed.

The congregations in Western Australia, in order of institution are:

  • Armadale – instituted 24 June 1951
  • Albany – instituted 14 December 1952
  • Kelmscott (daughter of Armadale) – instituted 1 January 1981
  • Byford (daughter of Armadale) – instituted 27 January 1985
  • Mount Nasura (formerly called Bedfordale, daughter of Kelmscott) – instituted 1 December 1987
  • Rockingham (daughter of Byford) – instituted 6 September 1992
  • West Albany (daughter of Albany) – instituted 6 August 1994
  • Southern River (formerly known as West Kelmscott, daughter of Kelmscott) – instituted 29 November 1998
  • Bunbury – instituted 25 November 2001, now with regular church services in Busselton
  • Darling Downs (daughter of Byford and Armadale) – instituted 6 July 2003
  • Baldivis (daughter of Rockingham) – instituted 1 July 2007
  • Mundijong (daughter of Byford) – instituted 6 December 2009
  • There is a home-congregation in Atherton, Queensland, over-seen by Armadale.
  • Busselton (daughter of Bunbury) – instituted 27 March 2011.
  • There is a church-plant in Melville, Western Australia, over-seen by Southern River.

The congregations in Tasmania are:

  • Launceston – instituted 15 February 1953
  • Legana (daughter of Launceston) – instituted 4 December 1988
  • There is also a home-congregation in Hobart.

The Churches have sister-church relationships with :

  • the Reformed Churches of the Netherlands (Liberated) (Gereformeerde Kerken vrijgemaakt),
  • the Canadian and American Reformed Churches,
  • the Free Reformed Churches of South Africa (Die Vrye Gereformeerde Kerke in Suid-Afrika,
  • the Presbyterian Church in Korea ,
  • the Reformed Churches in Indonesia (Gereja Gereja Reformasi di Indonesia, NTT).

Our local churches are actively engaged in mission work in several locations in Asia, including Papua New Guinea and Indonesia. They have particularly close ties with the Canadian and American Reformed Churches, and many of Our ministers have received Our theological training at the Canadian Reformed Theological Seminary.

Our Location: 289 Masters Road, Darling Downs, Western Australia